Patience in Practice

I waited patiently for the Lord; And He inclined to me, And heard my cry.- Psalm 40:1 (NKJV)

I dare anyone to say that David was  not patient.  I truly suspect that David endured enough to learn extreme levels of patience as God bought him up as a shepherd boy, a man of war and a priest-like king.  He was developed as he discovered his destiny, developing patience all along the way.

David is a shining example of patience in practice.  He didn’t just offer lip service about waiting on the Lord.  He exemplified faith as he held on, awaiting and expecting God to respond to him. 

He developed patience as he was developed by God.  The patience that he would need to restrain his men from tearing Shimei to shreds would come about over time.  The patience that would allow him to mourn for his wayward son Absalom was developed years prior to losing his throne to his son.

Look at Psalm 40.  David was in a “horrible pit” and God delivered him, but the Word does not say that it was an overnight deliverance (v. 2).  The Lord even put a new song in David’s mouth according to verse 3.   Yet, David shows that he learned some things along the way, experiencing newfound endurance as he waited on the Lord. 

David learned what God desires out of those who seek the Lord earnestly.  David learned more about the truth of worship rather than the tradition of worship.  David was able to look at God’s abundant mercy and blessings and his own utter unworthiness. 

David saw that being picked up out of the pit was only the stirring up of genuine praise (v. 2).  David got fired up for praise so much that he began to sing that “new song” (v. 3).  David got so caught up in worship that he started filling the assembly of God’s people with wonderful words like: tender mercies, faithfulness, righteousness, lovingkindness, and salvation (vv. 9-11).  David was speaking from an experience that was birthed as he awaited the Lord’s response.  He went so far as to say that he did not restrain his lips (v. 9).  David learned the benefits and blessings of putting patience into practice.

But I am poor and needy;  Yet the Lord thinks upon me. You are my help and my deliverer; Do not delay, O my God.

Psalm 40:17 (NKJV)

Published by

4 responses to “Patience in Practice”

  1. Thank you sir, for patience is one of the must haves in my journey.

  2. Thankyou for this it was
    extremly helpful as I am in a mirey clay right now

  3. What a wonderful commentary! Thank you for sharing. I’m inspired to be thankful he’s training me in patience. Much love, peace & blessings!

  4. Yah me too I think patience is very important

Leave a comment